American as Paneer Pie(hardcover)-Supriya Kelkar

American as Paneer Pie(hardcover)-Supriya Kelkar - 99BooksStore

American as Paneer Pie(hardcover)-Supriya Kelkar

Regular price ₹ 499.00 Sale price ₹ 374.00 Save 25%
/
Condition
  • 🌀😱 Free Delivery and Free COD on order above ₹ 799 😱🌀
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Publisher : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (June 9, 2020)
Language : English
Hardcover : 320 pages
ISBN-10 : 1534439382
ISBN-13 : 978-1534439382
Reading age : 8 - 12 years
Lexile measure : 840L
Grade level : 3 - 7
Item Weight : 13.6 ounces
Dimensions : 5.5 x 1 x 8.25 inches

---------
An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice.

As the only Indian American kid in her small town, Lekha Divekar feels like she has two versions of herself: Home Lekha, who loves watching Bollywood movies and eating Indian food, and School Lekha, who pins her hair over her bindi birthmark and avoids confrontation at all costs, especially when someone teases her for being Indian.

When a girl Lekha’s age moves in across the street, Lekha is excited to hear that her name is Avantika and she’s Desi, too! Finally, there will be someone else around who gets it. But as soon as Avantika speaks, Lekha realizes she has an accent. She’s new to this country, and not at all like Lekha.

To Lekha’s surprise, Avantika does not feel the same way as Lekha about having two separate lives or about the bullying at school. Avantika doesn’t take the bullying quietly. And she proudly displays her culture no matter where she is: at home or at school.

When a racist incident rocks Lekha’s community, Lekha realizes she must make a choice: continue to remain silent or find her voice before it’s too late.

Recently viewed